flower


2005-01-06 | 9:10 p.m.
<- An Epiphany, Of Sorts. ->

Many many thanks to Vin for re-introducing me to JCO in a manner that actually drove me to seek out her work at the local library, to discover "Blonde".

Never have I been so enchanted by a book! Always, with books, I feel transformed, perhaps 'turned-into' the character for the hours that I am reading. But "Blonde" is different, for I've made a wonderful discovery!

I AM Norma Jeane Baker.

Perhaps not Marilyn Monroe, perhaps not Norma Jeane as she was decades before I born, but NORMA JEANE BAKER as depicted and subtley fictionalized by JCO. It's as if she told the tale of my (emotional, mental) life, years before it came to be. Someone has vocalized my inner thoughts. Someone has put (more eloquent) words to the feelings I've never quite been able to describe! It's an amazing feeling, to feel quietly found out by someone who will never truly know that THIS IS ME! I AM HER! I AM SHE!

Just like, in "Blonde", Norma Jeane IS Nell, IS Rose, IS Lorelei Lee. I AM Norma Jeane. Sad though, the paranoid undertones echo so true for my own life. Sad though, I must identity with the diseased aspects of characters. Sad, that I identify with madness. Loss. Paranoia. Need.

Anyways, look for much work to be born of this reading experience. As I am feeling quite inspired! But also, forgive me, for I do not mean to borrow so blatantly from someone much more talented than I. I do it because I am weak. Useless. And apparently, have no thoughts that are unique. But now! At least I have something to identify with!



0 comments so far

Nostalgia | Revelations